About | Tansy Davies | Composer

Fierce Tears



Oboist James Turnbull's debut recital disc features a number of world premiere recordings of music by Michael Berkeley, John Woolrich, Tansy Davies, Colin Matthews, James MacMillan and Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, performed by James, Huw Watkins (piano) and Claire Jones (harp).


Selected as Editor’s choice
Classical Music Magazine

‘A notable debut for Turnbull’
- Gramophone Magazine

‘Fierce Tears offers further proof that the oboe’s contemporary repertoire continues to thrive; and in James Turnbull it has a worthy champion.’
- The Independent

‘Fierce Tears represents a major contribution to the catalogue of British contemporary oboe recordings and a great personal achievement for James Turnbull.’
- Double Reeds News